“Funeral Sandwiches”

I recently discovered this recipe while browsing one of my favorite forums.  The name along intrigued me to take a look-sy. I never heard of “Funeral Sandwiches” before now but anything that involves a sammie I’m all in. Talk about Total Yum factor; Not to mention the recipe calls for brown sugar and King’s Hawaiian Rolls. Double Yum! This would be a perfect dish for tailgating or entertaining.

Ingredients

For the sandwiches:

  • 24 King’s Hawaiian Rolls
  • 24 slices deli slice Honey Ham
  • 24 slices deli slice Swiss cheese
  • Mayonnaise

For the glaze:

  • 2 sticks butter, melted
  • 4 Tablespoons Brown Sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons mustard
  • 2 Tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 Tablespoon finely minced onion (or 2 tsp. dried minced onion)
  • Poppy seeds, for sprinkling

Instructions

1. Cut the rolls in half and spread the insides lightly with mayonnaise. Lightly oil or spray baking pan with Pam. Line the bottom of a baking pan with the bottoms of the rolls. Layer the ham slices, then cheese and place the top half back on.

2. In a medium bowl mix together the melted butter, Worcestershire sauce, mustard, brown sugar and onion. Pour the entire concoction over the buns, drenching each one. Sprinkle each sammie with poppy seeds. Cover tightly and marinade anywhere from 4-24 hours.

3. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Bake for 15 minutes, uncovered or until cheese is melted and bun tops are a bit golden. Serve warm!

*CHEF’S TIP – BYOC (Be Your Own Chef) Mix and Match your favorite deli meats and cheeses to truly personalize it and make it your own.

About isunshineporter

Hello Family & Friends. First and foremost my name is Tameca D. Porter A.K.A Sunshine. I am from Jacksonville, FL but was born and raised in Tuskegee, AL. I am wonderfully & soulfully married to my Sweetie for 7 years now. We share a special love for each other which next to God is our everything. We have one teenage daughter, along with "Wiggles" our beloved Cocker Spaniel. We love to travel and have a long list of places we are crossing out one by one. Love You Much & May All Of Your Dreams Come True. Tameca "I have found the one my soul LOVES" --- Song of Solomon 3:4

Posted on October 5, 2012, in The Porter House Grille and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Absolutely written subject material, Really enjoyed looking at.

  2. http://lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

    I have to try this recipe too, but i wonder why they call them funeral sandwiches, duh I guess these sandwiches are something like what Paula Deen would enjoy making on her show.

    • Yeah it does sound like Paula. God I Love Her. But you know I wondered about the name myself. Tried to research it but the only thing that I came up with is that in the South it is tradition to bring food to the grieving families and that these were quick, simple and could feed a crowd.

      IDK, It just looks good! And I’m not waiting for no funeral to have them. I want to eat them in HAPPINESS!

      • signsandwonders2020

        Yes I think I heard the same thing too, but I agree 100% I want to eat this sandwich now.

  3. Reblogged this on lovelyseasonscomeandgo and commented:
    I am absolutely sure this is a Paula Deen Special. This looks delicious though.

  4. Reblogged this on lovelyseasonscomeandgo and commented:
    I am absolutely sure this is a Paula Deen Special. This looks delicious though.

  5. Looks very yummy

  6. My husband is allergic to milk, so I used vegan butter: http://www.veganbaking.net/fats/vegan-butters/vegan-butter and made portuguese bread from King Arthur’s web site… he can eat swiss cheese if it’s aged a long time (aging breaks proteins) He absolutely loves this recipe. Also, the coconut oil instead of butter is very good with the ham!

  7. Scottie freeman

    We each have our speciality that we call our death dish

  8. I accidently picked up mustard seed instead of poppy seed… :/ Would that be fine?

  9. What kind of rolls are kings Hawaiian .soft or crusty. ,or would it matter?

    • Hello Cathy. Thanks for stopping by and showing The Rays of Sunshine some love. To answer your question, Kings Hawaiian Rolls are the shape and size of your average dinner rolls the only difference is that they are sweet (and very yummy) might I add. If you can’t find them I’m quite sure any good dinner or slider rolls would be perfect. Happy Cooking

  10. I read that they are funeral sandwiches because they can be made ahead of time and taken for a funeral.

  11. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great
    post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

  1. Pingback: Must Try Recipes from Pinterest | The Work at Home Wife

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 373 other followers

